Even Martin Luther attempted to reform the Church from within! — Why I entered the GOP Primary for Congress for the 36th Congressional District of Texas

As I was reading up on the history of the Protestant Reformation last week, it dawned on me that my efforts at reforming our government are more likely to succeed from within one of the major parties rather than from the outside looking in, even if my political views don’t line up with the platforms of either the Democrats or the Republicans.   However, as the centerpiece of my campaign is REFORM, it seemed that the Republican party would be a more appropriate home, and the GOP primary battleground a better forum, for advancing my reform agenda.   Thus, last week, I filed to become one of 12! candidates for the Republican nomination for CD 36 here in Texas.

History tells us that Martin Luther attempted to reform the Catholic Church by presenting the Church with his 95 theses of reform, before he found himself the leader of a revolution — the Protestant Reformation.  Although I will not be nailing my 95 theses to the front door of the US Capitol or the White House (I wish I could, but I enjoy my freedom from jail too much to even attempt such an audacious move), I do encourage all those whose seek Political Reformation in the US to join my campaign.  Over the next few weeks, I hope to come up with at least 10 tangible reforms to governance and the political process each week and hear you opinion on those reforms.  Some of these reforms you have heard before.  Others are wholly my own creation.  You can follow my reform theses on Twitter @TexasReformer. and either comment here or through your tweet.  This evening will be my first thesis of the ninety-five that I will post.

Thanks to my small audience for reading this.  Help me grow my followers by forwarding this post and each of my theses!

About Chuck Meyer, a reform-minded Republican Primary Candidate for the US House of Representatives, TX 36th CD

Reform-minded Candidate for the Republican Nomination, US House of Representatives, 36th CD Texas Former BlackBerry Executive; Oxford Law Graduate; Former UH Law Visiting Professor; Mediator, Arbitrator, Negotiator;Patent Lawyer, Entrepreneur; Father of three daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Even Martin Luther attempted to reform the Church from within! — Why I entered the GOP Primary for Congress for the 36th Congressional District of Texas

  1. bill burkett says:

    I wish you luck, Chuck – reforming the political system is an almost sisyphysian task.

Leave a Reply

